Management Bodies

Scientific Council

CAPP's Scientific Council comprises all researchers with PhDs, who hold the right to vote for the election  of the research centre's Executive President and have a voice in the admission of new members on the organization and internal structure of the research centre and its functioning.

Executive Board

This board consists of CAPP's Executive President and five Vice-Presidents. Its responsibilities lay in the management of CAPP's regular operation in accordance with the unit's budget and plan of activities, which are taken into consideration by the Scientific Council yearly. 

The Executive Board currently consists of:

Executive President:

 Profª Sónia Pedro Sebastião


Executive Vice-Presidents:

Profª Ana Lúcia Romão

Profª Elvira Pereira

Prof. Pedro Fonseca

Profª Raquel Baltazar

Profª Sandra Balão


Coordination of the Research Groups

Power, Administration and Public Policies (PAPP): 

Coordinator: Prof. Pedro Gomes Rodrigues 

Joint-Coordinator: Profª Maria João Bárrios 

Society, Communication and Culture (SCC):  

Coordinator: Profª Rosária Ramos 

Joint-Coordinator: Profª Sónia Gonçalves 


Representatives of CAPP in Networks: 

Profª Lara Tavares (CAPP Research Seminars Organiser): 

International Union for the Scientific Study of Population (IUSSP)

Associação Portuguesa de Demografia (APD)


Scientific Advisory Committee:

As a consultative body, the Scientific Advisory Committee comprises academics of recognised merit who assist CAPP in its tireless quest for excellence. Its members are:

  • Prof. Jon Pierre - University of Gothenburg
  • Prof. Peter van Bergeijk - Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Prof. Virginie Guiraudon - Sciences Po Centre d'études européennes and Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
  • Prof. Stephen Osborne - University of Edinburgh
  • Profª Margarida Peixoto Duarte - University of Toronto 
  • Profª Mara A. Yerkes - Utrecht University